A broken shadow


I smile like a lovesick moron every-time I read you.

Imagining yours when you read me.

Not what I write. But me.

My face. My body. My memories. My thoughts.

The smile vanishes soon.

Because your letter seems to say something else.

Perhaps I understood it all wrong.

Yes, it is my fault

that I felt you could…

But the letter was imaginary

The one I weaved in my heart

To quench my irrational desire

To answer my uncontrollable curiosity

To create a fictional possibility

And you always stood there

Nothing but a broken shadow

Poem dedicated to a former crush and to everyone who’s had a crush someday

One thought on “A broken shadow

Speak!

